On Our Way To An Orphanage In Mexico

Posted on

It’s one of the times each year I look forward to for a long time– I will be gone to serve at an orphanage in Vicente Guerrero, which is about 120 miles south of Tijuana on the Baja peninsula in Mexico. Our truck and trailer were loaded yesterday while the sun was still up! (That’s a first.)

It's about time to upgrade to a bigger truck.
It’s about time to upgrade to a bigger truck.

Here’s our team! This time, along with my wife and our two kids we are bringing two teens who have served in the children’s ministries in our church. We are all ready and able for the tasks ahead. First hurdle: the long long drive.

concas and team

My kids are looking forward to seeing their friends and going to the beach. I can’t pinpoint one specific thing I’m looking forward to most, though. The whole experience is just good for the soul and, at times, heartbreaking. It’s a bringing together of individuals in God’s name to help these orphans. There’s nothing else like it.

We normally go to this orphanage twice a year. Our last trip was over Christmas and New Year. Our truck and trailer are loaded with many donated items ranging from diapers, a bed, and homemade play-dough to bikes, a refrigerator, and medical equipment. This will be our first time leading VBS (Vacation Bible School) for the little ones so we have some supplies for that as well.

This video might help illustrate why these trips are so important to us.

 

If you feel a calling to help somehow please see Foundation For His Ministry’s website for sponsorship opportunities, to make a contribution or see how you can get involved. My wife started out serving in China and realized she wanted more than anything to do this with her whole family. Then this opportunity presented itself relatively close to home and now we’re all able to serve. Check out the website and their various locations or give me a call and we’ll find something that is the right fit for you.

I’ll be gone from today, May 30th, through June 9th. I intend to share more of this journey next week, so follow my blog (up at the top of the page) for updates.

Should you need assistance during my absence please contact Margaret Phillips at 530-295-2902. Feel free to browse my website and when I return you may contact me, John Conca, on my cell at 530-306-3494. Enjoy the excellent weather El Dorado county is getting this week! Prayers for a safe and productive trip are always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

