Waiting For A Good Snow

Posted on

It’s true- we’re in a drought. One of the symptoms is a later first snow. October in Pollock Pines is usually graced with the first snow of the year. But for the last couple of years, if there was a snow in October or November, it was light and short-lived. It is now December and, unless it fell and melted while I slept, I have seen no snow.

This is this time, last year, at Sly Park lake near my house.

I don’t usually go on about silly things like “I miss snow,” but it’s something very out of place. I may not miss shoveling snow (or snow blowing snow), but I am looking forward to the rest of it. I like the games you can only play in snow- watching my kids tobogganing, building snow men, having a snow ball fight. I miss hot cocoa for the occasion. I miss the warmth of the house in contrast to the frigid outdoors. I miss driving my truck through the snow.

I only have to wait another few weeks, maybe 6 at the most. I should really be saying, “I’m looking forward to the first real snow”, but that would miss the point. I am missing the snow that is missing.

I love living in Pollock Pines, at this elevation, in the forest. It usually snows a perfect amount. Don’t hold the lack of early snow against Pollock Pines; a long Autumn is nice too. It certainly makes viewing and showing houses easier. I live in Pollock Pines, but I’ve worked all of El Dorado County for over a decade and can help you with any of your real estate needs. Get out while the roads are clear and check out your future home before it’s covered in snow. …Whenever that may be…

Thanks for stopping by and commiserating with me! Give me, John Conca, a call at 530-306-3494 if you want to discuss your real estate options or if you have any questions. Follow my blog for updates on real estate news, timely home maintenance suggestions and tips for buyers and sellers. Have a great day and watch out for that first real snow…..any time now.

Leave a Reply

